Hello guest, if you like this forum, why don't you register? https://fanrestore.com/member.php?action=register (December 14, 2021) x

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Adding 35mm Film Grain
I am new to this forum and to producing and preserving movies of all sorts (mainly horror). I am confident with my editing skills and ability to create a fully authored BD, however I have learned that there are ways to improve the quality of a movie file (in this case, the file is in an MKV/M2TS format) by simply adding 35mm film grain to the file. This is one area I am not an expert in nor familiar with. If there is anyone out there reading this now that would like to offer me some pointers and/or assistance, I welcome your input with open arms. Thanks for taking the time to read this Smile

Here is a link to an example of what I am trying to achieve:

http://gorillagrain.com/products

I would also be willing to send the file and the 35mm grain plate that I purchased to do this. I would also be willing to compensate you for your time. A bit of a trade, if you will. Please get back to me at your earliest convenience. Thank You
Thanks given by:
Welcome aboard!

The forum is in the middle of an upgrade, so you should be patient for a while, but you'll receive help ASAP!
Thanks given by:
Is it strange that I just got the jitters and an uncontrollable urge to jump up and down with excitement after reading your post? Tongue
Thanks given by:
Ah, lovely grain. I've yet to use it for a full feature, but it's incredibly useful in my cinema intro edits to marry up movie trailers from different sources (where some might be pristine 35mm scans and some from VHS!)

I went for Holygrain myself - their basic plates are terrific, but their damage layers (dust, scratches etc.) could be better, so I'll look into what Gorilla have to offer.