Posts: 1,554
Threads: 60
Joined: 2015 Jan
Thanks: 229
Given 627 thank(s) in 372 post(s)
Country:
It's frustrating that madVR doesn't have any way to tweak the conversion to SDR, or at least it doesn't seem to have one. Part of the reason that the flesh tones look a bit off is that there is too much saturation. If one could tweak saturation and brightness/contrast, it would look considerably better. Being able to make the conversion on playback is a big advantage.
Posts: 1,255
Threads: 14
Joined: 2017 Aug
Thanks: 100
Given 307 thank(s) in 226 post(s)
Country:
(2018-05-31, 03:06 PM)Chewtobacca Wrote: It's frustrating that madVR doesn't have any way to tweak the conversion to SDR, or at least it doesn't seem to have one. Part of the reason that the flesh tones look a bit off is that there is too much saturation. If one could tweak saturation and brightness/contrast, it would look considerably better. Being able to make the conversion on playback is a big advantage.
Right, it's just "part" of the reason, 'cause when I try to emulate MadVR saturation, I don't get the same shade of skin tones, the same shade of orange. I think I even went a tad oversaturated. I'll do another one cutting back from 1,1 saturation to just 1.
Posts: 859
Threads: 5
Joined: 2015 Apr
Thanks: 184
Given 210 thank(s) in 144 post(s)
Country:
2018-05-31, 03:16 PM
(This post was last modified: 2018-05-31, 06:06 PM by X5gb.)
My Grease encode again froze on a still image towards the end (a different frame this time), going to rerip my uhd and try again, maybe there is a glitch in the original rip I did. Another 2 days encode.
Posts: 2,049
Threads: 56
Joined: 2016 Dec
Thanks: 161
Given 1008 thank(s) in 612 post(s)
I feel your pain X5gb. Third time's a charm!
Depending on the tone mapping process colours out of gamut can end up desaturated. There's a thread about madvr and it's ongoing development on avsforum:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-digital...ector.html
It's geared towards front projection but the principles should still apply.
Posts: 1,554
Threads: 60
Joined: 2015 Jan
Thanks: 229
Given 627 thank(s) in 372 post(s)
Country:
(2018-05-31, 03:14 PM)Beber Wrote: Right, it's just "part" of the reason, 'cause when I try to emulate MadVR saturation, I don't get the same shade of skin tones, the same shade of orange.
Yes. I noticed the same thing myself.
Posts: 1,554
Threads: 60
Joined: 2015 Jan
Thanks: 229
Given 627 thank(s) in 372 post(s)
Country:
Here's the relevant portion of the script that RipBot264 uses to make the conversion. It should give those who wish to tinker outside of the program a starting point.
Code: #VideoSource
LoadPlugin("RipBot264v1.22.0\Tools\AviSynth plugins\ffms\ffms_latest\x64\ffms2.dll")
video=FFVideoSource("whatever.mkv",cachefile = "somefile.ffindex")
LoadPlugin("RipBot264v1.22.0\Tools\AviSynth plugins\Plugins_JPSDR\Plugins_JPSDR.dll")
video=Spline36ResizeMT(video,1920,1080,SetAffinity=false).Sharpen(0.2)
#Tonemap
Loadplugin("RipBot264v1.22.0\Tools\AviSynth plugins\avsresize\avsresize.dll")
Loadplugin("RipBot264v1.22.0\Tools\AviSynth plugins\DGTonemap\x64\DGTonemap.dll")
video=z_ConvertFormat(video,pixel_type="RGBPS",colorspace_op="2020ncl:st2084:2020:l=>rgb:linear:2020:l", dither_type="none").DGHable
video=z_ConvertFormat(video,pixel_type="YV12",colorspace_op="rgb:linear:2020:l=>709:709:709:l",dither_type="ordered")
deleted user
Unregistered
Thanks:
Given thank(s) in post(s)
Chewtobacca, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think AviSynth+ needs a modded ffms2 version to make use of the deep colorspaces and needs an extra parameter passed along with it.
Either way, good to have the script!
Posts: 1,554
Threads: 60
Joined: 2015 Jan
Thanks: 229
Given 627 thank(s) in 372 post(s)
Country:
2018-06-01, 01:33 AM
(This post was last modified: 2018-06-01, 10:35 AM by Chewtobacca.)
^ I've no idea. I'm just cutting and pasting the relevant portion of the script. :-) There's nothing else in it at the point in question, so I haven't left out a parameter.
And it seems that when you tweak the colors in RiptBot264, it actually does call Tweak(). This is the adjustment that Beber made for TDK in post#95.
Code: video=Tweak(video,sat=1.1,bright=-2,cont=0.9)
Posts: 1,255
Threads: 14
Joined: 2017 Aug
Thanks: 100
Given 307 thank(s) in 226 post(s)
Country:
Actually, Chewie, my tweaks left the hue untouched at 0, and the sat was 1.1 in post #95.
Posts: 1,554
Threads: 60
Joined: 2015 Jan
Thanks: 229
Given 627 thank(s) in 372 post(s)
Country:
(2018-06-01, 02:07 AM)Beber Wrote: Actually, Chewie, my tweaks left the hue untouched at 0, and the sat was 1.1 in post #95.
Ah, so that's what you meant by:
(2018-05-29, 10:10 PM)Beber Wrote: MadVR / RipBot default / RipBot with tweaking (saturation 1,1, brightness -2, contrast 0,9):
I could see that there was a typo somewhere. As there are four options in Ripbot264, and there seemed to be four inputs, I assumed you had mislabeled the saturation. That's what happens when you follow the European practice of using a comma as a decimal point. I'll edit my previous post.
|