Hello guest, if you like this forum, why don't you register? https://fanrestore.com/member.php?action=register (December 14, 2021) x

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tonemapping from HDR to SDR with Dolby Vision 100nit trim pass
I found a pretty cool tool recently when looking foe some HDR analysis stuff called DoVi_Scripts. Not sure how well known this is but it can do some cool stuff with DV so I thought I’d share. (also the YT vid the github links to for this looks to be outdated)

I’m by no means an expert, but, from my understanding, Dolby Vision has these things called trim passes, which basically are data on how to tonemap the image for certain brightness values. One of the passes is for 100nits, which is effectively SDR, so this is data on how to tonemap the HDR image to SDR.

Motivations are hopefully obvious: high quality SDR versions of 4KBDs, especially interesting for titles which the 4KBD differs from the 2KBD in terms of, say, the transfer, or even something more significant like Gemini Man (2019)’s 60fps presentation. The tonemap also can retain 4K 10bit which may be a plus for projects and such.

The main limitation is, of course, that this only applies to Dolby Vision, and that the DV titles need to have the 100nit trim pass. Basically all the titles I’ve tested so far (8) do have it, but I did run into the curious example of The Last of Us (2023) only having it for episode 1, with the other episodes being absent it, so its possible to not be there.

Anyway, enough rambling, how can it be done?

DoVi_Scripts is basically a collection of tools focused around processing and analysing DV and HDR videos, looks to be mostly focused on DV hybrid stuff.

But it can do some other stuff; Under video encoding settings [8 MIXED: Audio/Remover/Encoder/Playlist/Sample → 2 VIDEO Encoding → 4 PRORES DV to SDR], there is a DV to SDR 100nit trim pass delivery option, which is what we’re looking for.